The Museum – Headquarters of the Revolution is located in the historic village of Theriso.
Therisso is a small, semi-mountainous village 15 km south of the city of Chania.
The settlement, which is nestled in an inaccessible green valley at the mouth of the eponymous canyon, has historical ties to the island’s most pivotal event, the Revolution of 1905. The Bulakas family offered the revolutionaries a small, single-story building as their headquarters. A second level was added in succeeding years, and ownership shifted.
The exhibition extends across two floors and includes authentic artifacts and archival documents. The original flag-banner of the Revolution with the inscription “Therisso 1905” is presented on the ground floor, alongside the manual flat press used by the Revolutionaries. In addition to the authentic documents and photographs of the era, a Cretan Gendarmerie uniform is displayed, while the supervisory material presents the history of the building and a brief history of the Revolution of Therisso.
On the first floor of the Headquarters of the Revolution, it is displayed an authentic 19th-century Cretan attire , pistols and rifles. The history of the Cretan State until its second phase (1898-1908), with emphasis on the events of the Revolution of Therisso 1905, is also presented on the first floor through the supervisory material from the Foundation’s archive of photographs, newspapers, and postcards.